Self-isolation day 2

insanity (out of 10): 0

something random: Nutella has a sun protection factor of 9.7. Yes, I am aware that this is no surprisingly new fact, but I think it is still extraordinary enough to mention it because … Who on earth would waste Nutella as sun protection?

 

Hello, it is only the second day of my self-isolation newsletter and I have already run out of good ideas … That's why I want to do something very basic today - telling you a story from my slightly odd everyday life. I suppose that most of you have already heard this story, but I have no idea what else I could write about.

 

(This is a hint to my mum: DON'T translate this article for my grandma, please. The letter that she will receive for Easter includes this and a few other stories.)

 

The peanut tattoo

I actually find peanuts very tasty and when I added them to my porridge the days after the following incident, I couldn't help but always chuckle a bit.

It was about a month ago when I went to Canterbury with two friends from school to … well, literally do nothing but eating crêpes and walking from store to store. In order to protect their privacy (and dignity), I will call them friend A (cough, cough * a very tall person) and friend B (the opposite of very tall). At some point, we were standing in front of an earring stand (I don't know if that's the correct word … I mean these revolving metal things that are covered in dozens of faked earrings made in Indonesia), when friend A started to talk about piercings and tattoos. She also said that she would like to have a tattoo of a particular object behind her left ear, but it was admittedly a bit noisy around us, so I understood something like "peanut". Well, at first sight nothing seems to be wrong about having a peanut tattoo, right? However, things started to become strange when friend B was a bit disgusted by friend A's idea, so I asked friend B what she thinks is wrong about it. The following look on her face could be described as  …. slightly incredulous. So was her response: "Are you listening to yourself right now? What is NOT wrong about having a (peanut) tattoo?" It took me one more store to realize that they weren't talking about peanuts ... My innocent brain didn't know that the pronunciation of peanut and another particular word is quite similar in English. By now you can probably guess what friend A was actually talking about … the male genitals. And this also explained friend B's reaction when I was saying that I think there nothing wrong about having such a tattoo ...

 

* Don't worry, it is not the corona virus. ;)

 

Okay, that's it for today. Take care and have a lovely day,

Sandra :)

 

(I wonder if anybody is now sitting in front of their computer, thinking something like "Which kind of friends did Sandra find in England???")